Pitcher throwing a warmup must face next batter

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  justus 1 week ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #551316

    daleshell
    Participant

    At the start of the 5th inning, the current pitcher threw 3 warmup pitches and then said he wanted to replace the pitcher. This was disallowed saying he had to pitch to the first batter before he could be replaced. I think this was a misinterpretation of Rule 3.05a concerning Preliminaries with starting pitcher. If not please tell me where I can find this restriction.

    #551350

    justus
    Participant

    https://content.mlb.com/documents/2/2/4/305750224/2019_Official_Baseball_Rules_FINAL_.pdf

    Rule 5.10 (i) “If a pitcher who is already in the game crosses the foul line on
    his way to take his place on the pitcher’s plate to start an
    inning, he shall pitch to the first batter until such batter is put
    out or reaches first base, unless the batter is substituted for, or
    the pitcher sustains an injury or illness which, in the judgment
    of the umpire-in-chief, incapacitates him from pitching.
    If the
    pitcher ends the previous inning on base or at bat and does not
    return to the dugout after the inning is completed, the pitcher is
    not required to pitch to the first batter of the inning until he
    makes contact with the pitcher’s plate to begin his warm-up
    pitches.”

    #551359

    justus
    Participant

    daleshell, I found the rule for you. Please acknowledge.

    #551360

    daleshell
    Participant

    Sorry, I asked this from my phone and I may have asked in wrong forum. This is related to Little League Senior Division.
    But, I think with this and the wording of LL Rule 3.05b it would result in the same ruling. That the pitcher that took the warm up pitches must complete pitches to first batter.

    #551364

    justus
    Participant

    Thanks for the clarification.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.