Lower zone problems

This topic contains 10 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  sowjanaya863 10 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

mike_howard
    Participant

Hello all. First year HS umpire here. Only previous experience has been the dad plucked from the stands when the LL ump didn’t show up. I’m a student of baseball, but only as a player to this point. Umping is way different than just simply spectating, as I’m sure you all know.

I am looking for tips on how to improve calling the lower part of the zone. I know it’s the bane of every ump at every level, but I’m having trouble adjusting. I had one manager (in a friendly way, not a confrontational way) come to me the other night and remark, “You have to give us that lower part of the zone. You’re killing my pitcher.” I responded, “Doing my best, coach.” He said he understood, but he had pitch count concerns and felt like his guy was hitting his spots.

I actually agree with him in retrospect. I should have had a bigger zone low, but it was already the third inning and I felt it would be poor form to expand the zone when most of the batters had already had 1 or 2 at-bats.

I’ve found my “trick” for the upper zone: If it comes at my eyes it’s a ball, at my chin is a strike. I get literally zero complaints–not an eye roll from the batter or a grumble from the crowd–on this. Inside is the same way. If I have to move my eyes left it’s generally a ball (for a righty; reverse that for a lefty). If I don’t move them or move a tad right it’s a strike. Again, no complaints from anybody, including the batter for the most part.

I set up in the slot with my nose on the inside corner. The only exception is if the batter is crowding the plate and I have to shift towards the middle of the plate to pick up the ball from the pitcher’s hand.