Hello, everyone!

This topic contains 10 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  umpire29 11 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

bradcuric
    Participant

Newbie here. I’m glad to have found this great online umpire community. I’m hoping to learn more from the other members here. Cheers! 🙂

mturman
    Participant

Welcome aboard…It has been very instrumental to my education over the years as well.

Note, be sure to spend time in the rule book before asking a rules based question as most veterans will ask for your input from that perspective first.

Also, be sure to specify what rule set the question is coming from (Fed, NCAA, MLB, ASA, etc.) as that will also have an impact on the provision of responses.

We can be a bunch of jerks sometimes…but for the most part, it’s all in love. Enjoy!

Aloha,
    Mike

heyblue26
    Participant

Welcome aboard and glad that you joined this great site, as mike mentions don’t be afraid to ask a question but do read the rulebook and what rule set you are using to your questions. We have some here that have lots more experience than others and I for one have learned a lot from here as well. As some may say you have to be thick skinned to be an umpire again welcome and enjoy.

bradcuric
    Participant

Thank you very much, everyone! Thank you all for the warm welcome!

mark38090
    Participant

Welcome, this is one of my most valuable learning tools.

umpire29
    Participant

Welcome!

typikon
    Participant

I really don’t understand why we have to warn new people, essentially, not to ask stupid questions. Why do certain people feel the need to do this when a new guy introduces himself?

If a guy asks a question straight out of the rule book, like, if a batter bunts foul on a third strike, is he out?”

“Joe, by rule, the batter is out, see definition of strike, rule 2.00., etc.”