Go Back   Forums > Between the Lines > Situations

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 07-31-2009, 08:19 AM   #1
renegadewolf
All-Star
 
renegadewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Age: 40
Posts: 411
Rep Power: 41
renegadewolf is a beacon of light on a stormy nightrenegadewolf is a beacon of light on a stormy nightrenegadewolf is a beacon of light on a stormy nightrenegadewolf is a beacon of light on a stormy nightrenegadewolf is a beacon of light on a stormy night
Default Signaling intentional walk

Just a quick question, if a catcher is standing up, holding his arm straight out as though to signal an intentional walk and the pitcher fires on straight down the pipe, should this simply be called a strike, or could this be considered an act of deception. I don't ever recall reading a rule that states when a catcher stands up and points away from the batter that anything beyond the catcher being in their box until the pitch is delivered, but it seems kinda dirty pool to me. any input?
renegadewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2009, 08:39 AM   #2
SocalBlue1
Moderator
Veteran
 
SocalBlue1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 388
Rep Power: 36
SocalBlue1 has disabled reputation
Default Re: Signaling intentional walk

A strike is a strike. F2 is normally asking for time right away to gp talk to the bonehead on the hill.
SocalBlue1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2009, 02:29 PM   #3
bobjenkins
All-Star Crew Chief
 
bobjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,538
Rep Power: 463
bobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Signaling intentional walk

Quote:
Originally Posted by renegadewolf View Post
should this simply be called a strike, or could this be considered an act of deception.
Those aren't mutually exclusive items. It's both a strike and it's deception. It's also legal.
bobjenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2009, 03:03 PM   #4
KenGibes
All-Star Crew Chief
 
KenGibes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,784
Rep Power: 375
KenGibes has a reputation beyond reputeKenGibes has a reputation beyond reputeKenGibes has a reputation beyond reputeKenGibes has a reputation beyond reputeKenGibes has a reputation beyond reputeKenGibes has a reputation beyond reputeKenGibes has a reputation beyond reputeKenGibes has a reputation beyond reputeKenGibes has a reputation beyond reputeKenGibes has a reputation beyond reputeKenGibes has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Signaling intentional walk

Quote:
Originally Posted by renegadewolf View Post
Just a quick question, if a catcher is standing up, holding his arm straight out as though to signal an intentional walk and the pitcher fires on straight down the pipe, should this simply be called a strike, or could this be considered an act of deception. I don't ever recall reading a rule that states when a catcher stands up and points away from the batter that anything beyond the catcher being in their box until the pitch is delivered, but it seems kinda dirty pool to me. any input?
Maybe we should ask Johnny Bench about the morality of this play...
KenGibes is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2009, 03:59 PM   #5
AugieDonatelli
All-Star Crew Chief
 
AugieDonatelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Age: 58
Posts: 3,224
Rep Power: 417
AugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Signaling intentional walk

Quote:
Originally Posted by KenGibes View Post
Maybe we should ask Johnny Bench about the morality of this play...
I used to know a woman who dated Bench, and from what I gathered from her, morality wasn't Johnny's strong suit.
AugieDonatelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2009, 03:59 PM   #6
HugoTafurst
Veteran
 
HugoTafurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: East Central Florida
Posts: 227
Rep Power: 40
HugoTafurst is movin' on upHugoTafurst is movin' on upHugoTafurst is movin' on up
Send a message via AIM to HugoTafurst Send a message via Yahoo to HugoTafurst
Default Re: Signaling intentional walk

Quote:
Originally Posted by renegadewolf View Post
Just a quick question, if a catcher is standing up, holding his arm straight out as though to signal an intentional walk and the pitcher fires on straight down the pipe, should this simply be called a strike, or could this be considered an act of deception. I don't ever recall reading a rule that states when a catcher stands up and points away from the batter that anything beyond the catcher being in their box until the pitch is delivered, but it seems kinda dirty pool to me. any input?
What???
Deception, "Dirty Pool" in baseball????
Punish the usual suspects.......

OK, sarcasm over for a minute:
Exactly what is wrong with trying to decieve a batter.
Should change-ups now be ilegal? Curve Balls?
HugoTafurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2009, 04:09 PM   #7
Rich_Ives
All-Star Crew Chief
 
Rich_Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Owego NY LL
Posts: 3,055
Rep Power: 283
Rich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Signaling intentional walk

Quote:
Originally Posted by HugoTafurst View Post
What???
Deception, "Dirty Pool" in baseball????
Punish the usual suspects.......

OK, sarcasm over for a minute:
Exactly what is wrong with trying to decieve a batter.
Should change-ups now be ilegal? Curve Balls?
Knuckeballs should be because they deceive everybody.
__________________
Different does not equate to wrong.
Rich_Ives is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2009, 04:14 PM   #8
BrianC14
All-Star Crew Chief
 
BrianC14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,381
Rep Power: 109
BrianC14 is a name known to allBrianC14 is a name known to allBrianC14 is a name known to allBrianC14 is a name known to allBrianC14 is a name known to allBrianC14 is a name known to all
Default Re: Signaling intentional walk

Quote:
Originally Posted by renegadewolf View Post
Just a quick question, if a catcher is standing up, holding his arm straight out as though to signal an intentional walk and the pitcher fires on straight down the pipe, should this simply be called a strike, or could this be considered an act of deception. I don't ever recall reading a rule that states when a catcher stands up and points away from the batter that anything beyond the catcher being in their box until the pitch is delivered, but it seems kinda dirty pool to me. any input?
This is why the DH rule stinks.
If a guy pulled this stunt in the NL, he'd better hope he's pulled before his next at-bat.
Then again, whoever leads off for that team next inning might be the receiver of the message that's going to be sent.
BrianC14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2009, 04:18 PM   #9
renegadewolf
All-Star
 
renegadewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Age: 40
Posts: 411
Rep Power: 41
renegadewolf is a beacon of light on a stormy nightrenegadewolf is a beacon of light on a stormy nightrenegadewolf is a beacon of light on a stormy nightrenegadewolf is a beacon of light on a stormy nightrenegadewolf is a beacon of light on a stormy night
Default Re: Signaling intentional walk

Quote:
Originally Posted by HugoTafurst View Post
What???
Deception, "Dirty Pool" in baseball????
Punish the usual suspects.......

OK, sarcasm over for a minute:
Exactly what is wrong with trying to decieve a batter.
Should change-ups now be ilegal? Curve Balls?
I'll be honest here I am still a noob to this, i am a level 1a (first year) umpire and still get confused on things. I think I've done a pretty good job of learning and understanding the rules of baseball, and I admit sometimes i might see an odd situation where I've not seen a situation and end up making something out of nothing, such as this one, but this is why i ask, I learn and i hopefully become a better umpire for it, and I do honestly appreciate all the input

thanks a bunch
renegadewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2009, 04:35 PM   #10
Rich_Ives
All-Star Crew Chief
 
Rich_Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Owego NY LL
Posts: 3,055
Rep Power: 283
Rich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Signaling intentional walk

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianC14 View Post
This is why the DH rule stinks.
If a guy pulled this stunt in the NL, he'd better hope he's pulled before his next at-bat.
Then again, whoever leads off for that team next inning might be the receiver of the message that's going to be sent.
It did get pulled in the NL. Johnny Bench was the victim. No one "got even".
__________________
Different does not equate to wrong.
Rich_Ives is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2009, 04:47 PM   #11
BrianC14
All-Star Crew Chief
 
BrianC14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,381
Rep Power: 109
BrianC14 is a name known to allBrianC14 is a name known to allBrianC14 is a name known to allBrianC14 is a name known to allBrianC14 is a name known to allBrianC14 is a name known to all
Thumbs up Re: Signaling intentional walk

Quote:
Originally Posted by renegadewolf View Post
I'll be honest here I am still a noob to this, i am a level 1a (first year) umpire and still get confused on things. I think I've done a pretty good job of learning and understanding the rules of baseball, and I admit sometimes i might see an odd situation where I've not seen a situation and end up making something out of nothing, such as this one, but this is why i ask, I learn and i hopefully become a better umpire for it, and I do honestly appreciate all the input

thanks a bunch
There you go, Renegade. There isn't an umpire out there that hasn't had something odd happen in a game at some point and wonder about it.

You've got the right attitude about improving your craft!
BrianC14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2009, 04:48 PM   #12
Tim_C
All-Star
 
Tim_C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PDX
Posts: 731
Rep Power: 49
Tim_C is movin' on upTim_C is movin' on upTim_C is movin' on up
Default Re: Signaling intentional walk

Rich, I maybe wrong, but I believe it was a World Series games against Oakland when Johnny got fooled.

And Brain I disagree that there would be a "message sent."
Tim_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2009, 04:51 PM   #13
BrianC14
All-Star Crew Chief
 
BrianC14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,381
Rep Power: 109
BrianC14 is a name known to allBrianC14 is a name known to allBrianC14 is a name known to allBrianC14 is a name known to allBrianC14 is a name known to allBrianC14 is a name known to all
Default Re: Signaling intentional walk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim_C View Post
Rich, I maybe wrong, but I believe it was a World Series games against Oakland when Johnny got fooled.

And Brain I disagree that there would be a "message sent."
I wouldn't know - I haven't seen every single time it's ever been done, in every baseball game ever played at every level.
Geez, guys, I wasn't talking in absolutes here. Let's say it COULD happen, OK?
BrianC14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.