Go Back   Forums > Between the Lines > Rules

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 07-13-2009, 04:38 PM   #1
mudder
Regular
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 119
Rep Power: 15
mudder is just getting started
Default Bat Hitting Ball Twice

Can someone cite (and briefly explain) the rules re:bat hitting the ball twice, specifically the difference (if any) between moving bat on ground hitting ball vs ball hitting motionless bat on ground.

Something came up during a recent game that my partner and I disagreed on.
mudder is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-13-2009, 04:44 PM   #2
bobjenkins
All-Star Crew Chief
 
bobjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,455
Rep Power: 411
bobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Bat Hitting Ball Twice

Quote:
Originally Posted by mudder View Post
Can someone cite (and briefly explain) the rules re:bat hitting the ball twice, specifically the difference (if any) between moving bat on ground hitting ball vs ball hitting motionless bat on ground.

Something came up during a recent game that my partner and I disagreed on.
Depends on the rules code.

In OBR, if the bat is still moving, then the batter is out. If the bat has come to rest, then the touching is ignored (the ball is still neither fair nor foul -- it will become one or the other depending on what happens next.)
bobjenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-13-2009, 04:53 PM   #3
CoachJM
Crew Chief
 
CoachJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,069
Rep Power: 62
CoachJM is a beacon of light on a stormy nightCoachJM is a beacon of light on a stormy nightCoachJM is a beacon of light on a stormy nightCoachJM is a beacon of light on a stormy nightCoachJM is a beacon of light on a stormy nightCoachJM is a beacon of light on a stormy night
Cool Re: Bat Hitting Ball Twice

mudder,

It's 6.05(h):

Quote:
6.05 A batter is out when—

...

(h) After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance. If the batter-runner drops his bat and the ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, the ball is alive and in play;
It's considered a form of interference when the bat hits the ball. If the ball hits the bat, it's simply treated as a batted ball hitting a "foreign object" while on or over fair territory.

By interpretation, if the ball hits the ground and bounces up hits the bat while the batter is still holding it and before he has left the batter's box, it is simply treated as a foul ball - even if the contact occurred over fair territory.

Under FED rules, you need "intent" to get an out, even if the bat hits the ball.

JM
__________________
"Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all."
CoachJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-13-2009, 06:37 PM   #4
mark38090
Veteran
 
mark38090's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gainesville, Fl.
Age: 46
Posts: 305
Rep Power: 64
mark38090 is a pillar in this communitymark38090 is a pillar in this communitymark38090 is a pillar in this communitymark38090 is a pillar in this communitymark38090 is a pillar in this communitymark38090 is a pillar in this communitymark38090 is a pillar in this communitymark38090 is a pillar in this community
Default Re: Bat Hitting Ball Twice

OK so correct me if I got this one wrong... Cal Ripken minors, BR bunts, ball bounces up off plate, BR drops bat but it hits ball on the way down, ball winds up fair with close play at 1B. HC comes out and questions foul ball because of contact in box. I said no, play stands, un-intentional and BR was not in contact with bat and had no intent. Did I blow that?
mark38090 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-13-2009, 08:49 PM   #5
TomClarke
Super Moderator
Regular
 
TomClarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 196
Rep Power: 49
TomClarke has much to be proud ofTomClarke has much to be proud ofTomClarke has much to be proud ofTomClarke has much to be proud ofTomClarke has much to be proud ofTomClarke has much to be proud ofTomClarke has much to be proud of
Default Re: Bat Hitting Ball Twice

sounds like you did. as a general rule of thumb...bat hits ball = out. ball hits bat = play on.
__________________
The poster formerly known as squeaky...
TomClarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-13-2009, 10:08 PM   #6
umpgent
Regular
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 154
Rep Power: 23
umpgent is movin' on upumpgent is movin' on up
Default Re: Bat Hitting Ball Twice

Mark, I'd say you got it wrong, but nothing I would worry about. That is a very difficult call as described.

If the batter was still holding the bat = foul ball.
If he had already dropped it = out.

You could probably sell this call as a foul (dead) ball better than a fair ball if you are not quite sure.

Another very tough call is when the batter bunts, and takes his first step toward first when the ball bounces up and hits him. Foul Ball? Interference?

If the batter's foot has come down on the ground clearly outside the box before the ball hits him, I'm ringing him up ... otherwise ... or if I'm not sure ... foul ball.
umpgent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.