Go Back   Forums > Between the Lines > Situations

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 07-10-2009, 12:23 PM   #1
Lancerdad34
Rookie
 
Lancerdad34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Detroit
Posts: 62
Rep Power: 25
Lancerdad34 is just getting started
Send a message via AIM to Lancerdad34
Smile Call out on the tag or interference first?

I was doing a LL 12 year old district game last night and had R1 (2 outs) with a grounder hit to F4. R1 runs right into F4 as he fields the ball and they both fall down. As they did the tag was appied and I called R1 out on that. My question in a play like that should I have called intereference first or with two out does it matter? Either way the inning was over.

Thanks,
Brian
Lancerdad34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2009, 12:42 PM   #2
Matt13
All-Star
 
Matt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 472
Rep Power: 42
Matt13 is movin' on upMatt13 is movin' on up
Default Re: Call out on the tag or interference first?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancerdad34 View Post
I was doing a LL 12 year old district game last night and had R1 (2 outs) with a grounder hit to F4. R1 runs right into F4 as he fields the ball and they both fall down. As they did the tag was appied and I called R1 out on that. My question in a play like that should I have called intereference first or with two out does it matter? Either way the inning was over.

Thanks,
Brian
Interference. It is an immediate dead ball, so the tag never happened.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Matt13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2009, 02:30 PM   #3
robbyrudd455
Veteran
 
robbyrudd455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 279
Rep Power: 18
robbyrudd455 is just getting started
Default Re: Call out on the tag or interference first?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancerdad34 View Post
I was doing a LL 12 year old district game last night and had R1 (2 outs) with a grounder hit to F4. R1 runs right into F4 as he fields the ball and they both fall down. As they did the tag was appied and I called R1 out on that. My question in a play like that should I have called intereference first or with two out does it matter? Either way the inning was over.

Thanks,
Brian
Yes, make sure you call that since if it happens later in the game with say 1 out and you call interference then, the other coach will say "Hey, that happened 2 innings ago and you called it nothing!"
robbyrudd455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2009, 04:17 PM   #4
Pete_Booth
Crew Chief
 
Pete_Booth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,012
Rep Power: 106
Pete_Booth has a brilliant futurePete_Booth has a brilliant futurePete_Booth has a brilliant futurePete_Booth has a brilliant futurePete_Booth has a brilliant futurePete_Booth has a brilliant futurePete_Booth has a brilliant futurePete_Booth has a brilliant futurePete_Booth has a brilliant futurePete_Booth has a brilliant futurePete_Booth has a brilliant future
Default Re: Call out on the tag or interference first?

Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancerdad34 View Post
I was doing a LL 12 year old district game last night and had R1 (2 outs) with a grounder hit to F4. R1 runs right into F4 as he fields the ball and they both fall down. As they did the tag was appied and I called R1 out on that. My question in a play like that should I have called intereference first or with two out does it matter? Either way the inning was over.

Thanks,
Brian
It could make a BIG difference. Suppose we had R1/R3 and only 1 out. If you do not call interference and simply say R1 out on the tag, R3's run then counts.

Interference is an immediate dead ball (in most instances) and runners return to their TOP bases.

In your situation it didn't matter because R1 was FORCED to go to second base and was the 3rd out and no runs can score as a result of the third out being a Force out.

The point is in other situations it could have a BIG IMPACT if you do not rule accordingly.

if the runner interfered do not "wait and see" the call is

1. TIME
2. That's interference
3. Somebody is out in this case R1
4. Other runners return to their TOP base

Pete Booth
Pete_Booth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-13-2009, 10:19 PM   #5
umpgent
Regular
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 154
Rep Power: 22
umpgent is movin' on upumpgent is movin' on up
Default Re: Call out on the tag or interference first?

PETE - READ the OP.

He said with two out does it matter?.
The answer is still yes, but your dissertation is off the point.

Lancer, Robby and Matt gave good answers.
umpgent is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-14-2009, 02:35 AM   #6
postman
Regular
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 138
Rep Power: 15
postman is just getting started
Default Re: Call out on the tag or interference first?

hmmm, though, interesting point on the perception of hte play and future plays. I had a play at home and there was interference on batter, but the catcher made the tag anyway. I called R3 out on tag. DC asked if there was intereference, and I said yes there was, but your player made the tag anyway so same result. Then I told OC that batter was in interference position and R3 would have been out without regard to tag. Everyone understood so I thought no big deal, but I see the point of taking priority on the INT play. Interesting.
postman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-14-2009, 03:36 AM   #7
CoachJM
Crew Chief
 
CoachJM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,069
Rep Power: 61
CoachJM is a beacon of light on a stormy nightCoachJM is a beacon of light on a stormy nightCoachJM is a beacon of light on a stormy nightCoachJM is a beacon of light on a stormy nightCoachJM is a beacon of light on a stormy nightCoachJM is a beacon of light on a stormy night
Cool Re: Call out on the tag or interference first?

postman,

No, actually, a 6.06(c) violation is handled a little differently. If, despite the BI, the F2 is able to successfully retire the runner he is playing on with his initial tag/throw, the BI is "disregarded" and any advances stand. The ball remains in play.

You got it right.

JM
__________________
"Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all."
CoachJM is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-14-2009, 06:12 PM   #8
robcichon
Regular
 
robcichon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 119
Rep Power: 20
robcichon is just getting started
Default Re: Call out on the tag or interference first?

Quote:
Originally Posted by umpgent View Post
PETE - READ the OP.

He said with two out does it matter?.
The answer is still yes, but your dissertation is off the point.

Lancer, Robby and Matt gave good answers.
Your reply is off the point. the OP said OR.....

not calling the INT first and always is a rookie mistake. Something you WANT to avoid!
__________________
RobCichon = rcichon
robcichon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2009, 12:59 AM   #9
postman
Regular
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 138
Rep Power: 15
postman is just getting started
Default Re: Call out on the tag or interference first?

oh, thanks Jim. I didn't know the rule but it just seemed intuitive that if he made the play then call the out on the play and ball stays in play like you said. thanks for the claification.

So, to be sure then, if he didn't make the play and I called the BI, then ball is dead- correct?
postman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2009, 01:08 PM   #10
bobjenkins
All-Star Crew Chief
 
bobjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,051
Rep Power: 285
bobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Call out on the tag or interference first?

Quote:
Originally Posted by postman View Post
oh, thanks Jim. I didn't know the rule but it just seemed intuitive that if he made the play then call the out on the play and ball stays in play like you said. thanks for the claification.

So, to be sure then, if he didn't make the play and I called the BI, then ball is dead- correct?
6.06(c) CMT
bobjenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.