Go Back   Forums > Pick your level > High School

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-03-2009, 04:36 AM   #1
postman
Regular
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 138
Rep Power: 16
postman is just getting started
Default Batter interference?

New ump. Watching High School playoff game to learn. Here is situation:

Runner on first. 2 Strikes on batter (not that it matters). Pitch comes in, R1 takes off for second. Batter swings and misses (strike 3). Catcher catches clean and stands up to throw to second. In exchange from glove to throwing hand, catcher loses control of ball and it comes out of hand. But he catches ball with mitt. After he catches ball with mitt, batter's momentum carries him into front of plate and batter makes solid contact with catcher as he is clearly in front.

Ump called no interference. After defensive team came coaches 'unglued', ump defended position by simply saying catcher 'lost control of ball'.

Was this right call? Seemed to me should have been interference as catcher did regain control - but unless the runner trips (which he didn't) he probably didn't have shot at the runner. But who knows. It was fast, but I don't think the runner reached second yet. But would it matter anyway? Basically is it interference? What situation would change it to non-interference/or interference, depending on the ruling. hope that makes sense.
postman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2009, 05:58 AM   #2
golanthius
Rookie
 
golanthius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 62
Rep Power: 17
golanthius is just getting started
Default Re: Batter interference?

This is a difficult call without actually seeing the play. I would say that once the catcher bobbled the ball, he would not have thrown out the runner anyway. Did the catcher attempt to throw to second? If not I would have let it play stand. If so it probably would have been interference.
golanthius is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2009, 12:38 PM   #3
heyblue26
All-Star Crew Chief
 
heyblue26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Korea
Posts: 5,073
Rep Power: 252
heyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Batter interference?

Quote:
Originally Posted by golanthius View Post
This is a difficult call without actually seeing the play. I would say that once the catcher bobbled the ball, he would not have thrown out the runner anyway. Did the catcher attempt to throw to second? If not I would have let it play stand. If so it probably would have been interference.
Agree very difficult to call with out seeing the play but this is my guess as far as reading the post and reply. Batters Action: Batter interference if the batter hinders the catcher (6.06c) (1) Intentionally, (2) By stumbling or stepping outside the batters box, (3) by abnormal or extraordinary movement inside the batters box or (4) with his bat (See also interference without a play). Note: if the batter's action is not intenitional, does not involve the catcher's fielding of the pitch, and the catcher does not try to throw, then it is not interference.

Example; If a batter strikes out and interferes, he is already out and cannot be called out for the interference. The runner who is played against is then called out,

Some of this is from the J/R manual as it is written.
heyblue26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2009, 01:13 PM   #4
dash_riprock
All-Star Crew Chief
 
dash_riprock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,268
Rep Power: 256
dash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Batter interference?

Intent has nothing to do with it. J/R is a bit misleading (although I wouldn't dare disagree with that manual). Certainly, as J/R states, intentional interference is always INT, but if the batter unintentionally interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by stepping out of the box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher's play at home plate, it is still INT. Intent is never necessary for BI.
dash_riprock is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2009, 01:24 PM   #5
dash_riprock
All-Star Crew Chief
 
dash_riprock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,268
Rep Power: 256
dash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Batter interference?

Quote:
Originally Posted by golanthius View Post
Did the catcher attempt to throw to second? If not I would have let it play stand. If so it probably would have been interference.
Exactly.
dash_riprock is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2009, 03:04 PM   #6
heyblue26
All-Star Crew Chief
 
heyblue26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Korea
Posts: 5,073
Rep Power: 252
heyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond repute
Post Re: Batter interference?

Batter interference from Wendelstedt Rules & Mechanics Manual says it is interference by a batter when: The batter hinders or impedes with the catcher's throwing to retire a runner by stepping out of the batter's box , or making any other movements with his body or bat {6.06 (c)}

Also from Jim Evans Manual Offical Baseball Rules Annotated as written; Professional Interpretation page 6-46 The action by the batter which causes interference does not have to be intentional. The batter is obligated to aviod making any movement which obstructs, impedes, or hinders the catcher's play in any way. A swing which carries the batter over homer plate and subsequently compicates the catcher's play or attempted play should be ruled interference. Contact between the batter and catcher does not necessarily have to occur for interference to be ruled. Merely blocking the catchers vision to second base may very possibly be interference. A batter shall not be charged with interference for standing still and consequently complicating the catcher's play at any base. If he is within the confines of the batter's box, he must make some " other movement" that is deemed a hindrance to the catcher's play before interference is ruled.
heyblue26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2009, 03:21 PM   #7
dash_riprock
All-Star Crew Chief
 
dash_riprock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,268
Rep Power: 256
dash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond reputedash_riprock has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Batter interference?

Since this is the High School forum the rule would be 7-3-5, but all codes agree on this one.
dash_riprock is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2009, 03:24 PM   #8
heyblue26
All-Star Crew Chief
 
heyblue26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Korea
Posts: 5,073
Rep Power: 252
heyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond reputeheyblue26 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Batter interference?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
Since this is the High School forum the rule would be 7-3-5, but all codes agree on this one.
Dash_riprock Yea your right it is (sorry). And yes they all do agree don't they thanks for the help
heyblue26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2009, 04:42 PM   #9
postman
Regular
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 138
Rep Power: 16
postman is just getting started
Default Re: Batter interference?

Thanks, I thought it was intereference and I didin't think intention, or the fact that the catcher lost control of the ball or had a chance for the play had any bearing.

to be clear, the catcher came up to throw. The ball came from hand. He caught the ball with his glove again. Reached in and grabbed the ball. It looked like he was going to cock his arm again. But by this time the batter had stepped out of the batter's box and into the plate in front of the catcher. Both catcher momentum and batter momentum and both player's collided in front of the plate (or on the plate) with batter standing in front of catcher.

PU said no interference because catcher had "lost control of ball'. I didn't think 'control of ball had anything to do with it. And no, catcher did not attempt the second throw because of 1) the collision and 2) by that time he most likely didn't have a play anyway.

the question wasn't intentional or not. And there is no dispute that batter ran into catcher. It was 'fully body contact'. The question is does fact that catcher "had control over ball" or "had a play" have anything to do with interference call.

Thanks
postman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2009, 03:27 AM   #10
golanthius
Rookie
 
golanthius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 62
Rep Power: 17
golanthius is just getting started
Default Re: Batter interference?

If the catcher attempted to make a throw, then it is interference. Batter strikes out, R1 out on INT.
golanthius is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2009, 01:29 PM   #11
bobjenkins
All-Star Crew Chief
 
bobjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,448
Rep Power: 410
bobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Batter interference?

Quote:
Originally Posted by postman View Post
. The question is does fact that catcher "had control over ball" or "had a play" have anything to do with interference call.

Thanks
I would apply those facts, but the benefit of the doubt would go to F2.
bobjenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.