Go Back   Forums > Pick your level > High School

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 04-08-2009, 02:41 PM   #1
Dano
Veteran Crew Chief
 
Dano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,473
Rep Power: 130
Dano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant future
Default Designated Hitter: What the?

Had a coach ask me (stated it more than asked me) that he could pinch run (not courtesy run) for his desginated hitter as many times as he wanted and still keep his designated hitter as the same who started.

3.1.4 and 3.1.3 says that he can re-enter once.

Am I off my rocker or is he?
Dano is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-08-2009, 02:53 PM   #2
torquer
Veteran
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Laurel, De.
Posts: 266
Rep Power: 0
torquer has a little shameless behavior in the past
Default Re: Designated Hitter: What the?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dano View Post
Had a coach ask me (stated it more than asked me) that he could pinch run (not courtesy run) for his desginated hitter as many times as he wanted and still keep his designated hitter as the same who started.

3.1.4 and 3.1.3 says that he can re-enter once.

Am I off my rocker or is he?
He's just another starter. Re-entry once. Must be a coach thing. Did you stand your ground?

Jess
torquer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-08-2009, 02:55 PM   #3
Dano
Veteran Crew Chief
 
Dano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,473
Rep Power: 130
Dano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant future
Default Re: Designated Hitter: What the?

Quote:
Originally Posted by torquer View Post
He's just another starter. Re-entry once. Must be a coach thing. Did you stand your ground?

Jess

Yep.

Never came into play but I thought that was just strange.
Dano is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-08-2009, 02:58 PM   #4
Willy
Guest
No Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Designated Hitter: What the?

You are firmly planted in your rocker, he is not. The CR may be used for the pitcher and catcher only. In FED, you DH for a player, not a position. If either the pitcher or catcher is in the batting line-up, they may have a CR, albeit, not the same one.
  Reply With Quote
Unread 04-08-2009, 03:25 PM   #5
mstaylor
Veteran
 
mstaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Salisbury,MD
Age: 56
Posts: 367
Rep Power: 44
mstaylor is a jewel in the roughmstaylor is a jewel in the roughmstaylor is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Designated Hitter: What the?

Beside the fact that he is wrong, why the devil would he want to CR for a DH? The purpose for a CR is to speed the game along. The DH has nowhere to go for another nine ABs.
__________________
Michael S. Taylor
umpire-empire.com
mstaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-08-2009, 06:17 PM   #6
umpgent
Regular
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 154
Rep Power: 23
umpgent is movin' on upumpgent is movin' on up
Default Re: Designated Hitter: What the?

Because another common use (mis-use) of the CR rule is to run for a slow player ... in this case, likely a fat DH.
umpgent is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-09-2009, 03:11 PM   #7
Dano
Veteran Crew Chief
 
Dano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,473
Rep Power: 130
Dano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant futureDano has a brilliant future
Default Re: Designated Hitter: What the?

Just a reminder guys.

The coach was talking about PINCH RUNNING not Courtesy Running.

Thanks for the answers.
Dano is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-09-2009, 03:44 PM   #8
robbyrudd455
Veteran
 
robbyrudd455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 279
Rep Power: 20
robbyrudd455 is just getting started
Default Re: Designated Hitter: What the?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willy View Post
In FED, you DH for a player, not a position.
This is not correct. If Jones is pitcher and has CR Fred run for him in the first, then Brett comes into pitch later in the game, Fred can also run for him. Fred is locked in as the "pitcher" courtesy runner for whomever comes in as pitcher. So they DO run for a position, not a player.
robbyrudd455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-09-2009, 03:52 PM   #9
Willy
Guest
No Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Designated Hitter: What the?

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbyrudd455 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willy
In FED, you DH for a player, not a position.
This is not correct. If Jones is pitcher and has CR Fred run for him in the first, then Brett comes into pitch later in the game, Fred can also run for him. Fred is locked in as the "pitcher" courtesy runner for whomever comes in as pitcher. So they DO run for a position, not a player.
You are right. I said you DH for a player. CR rules apply to the position.

Dano,

Sorry, misread the op. DH, as starter, can re-enter one time.
  Reply With Quote
Unread 04-10-2009, 03:10 AM   #10
robbyrudd455
Veteran
 
robbyrudd455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 279
Rep Power: 20
robbyrudd455 is just getting started
Default Re: Designated Hitter: What the?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willy View Post
You are right. I said you DH for a player. CR rules apply to the position.

Dano,

Sorry, misread the op. DH, as starter, can re-enter one time.
I'm retarded. Sorry...

haha!
robbyrudd455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-14-2009, 09:09 PM   #11
Fritz
Rookie
 
Fritz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 69
Rep Power: 19
Fritz enjoys it when you click on his icon
Default Re: Designated Hitter: What the?

Quote:
Originally Posted by umpgent View Post
Because another common use (mis-use) of the CR rule is to run for a slow player ... in this case, likely a fat DH.
Or how about this that a partner said he had a couple of weeks ago (glad I didn't!).

FED, pitcher is batting (no DH) and gets a walk. OC announces a pinch runner, which my partner (he was PU at this game) confirms with the OC is not a courtesy runner. 2 pitches later, for whatever reason, OC requests time to insert a COURTESY RUNNER FOR THE PITCHER (pinch runner). "Uh, no coach, that is a pinch runner for the pitcher, you can't courtesy for a pinch runner" "Really? It's the pitcher's batting slot isn't it?" "Yeah, but he isn't the pitcher"

Coach says never mind, but it did get me thinking: what if the Coach had said yes, he's going to be the next pitcher, do you allow the courtesy runner then? Does the pinch runner/pitcher have to pitch to a batter the next inning? If he doesn't, do you void any actions from the "courtesy runner" the previous inning?

Geesh..................
__________________
"A clean plate is next to godliness"
Fritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-15-2009, 01:34 AM   #12
mstaylor
Veteran
 
mstaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Salisbury,MD
Age: 56
Posts: 367
Rep Power: 44
mstaylor is a jewel in the roughmstaylor is a jewel in the roughmstaylor is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Designated Hitter: What the?

Do not allow it. If you let the CR in for a PR he could still re-enter the original pitcher. Think of it this way, you would be taking a projected defensive sub. The same goes for the catcher.
__________________
Michael S. Taylor
umpire-empire.com
mstaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-15-2009, 04:02 PM   #13
torquer
Veteran
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Laurel, De.
Posts: 266
Rep Power: 0
torquer has a little shameless behavior in the past
Default Re: Designated Hitter: What the?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mstaylor View Post
Do not allow it. If you let the CR in for a PR he could still re-enter the original pitcher. Think of it this way, you would be taking a projected defensive sub. The same goes for the catcher.
The only time that a CR is used for someone who hasn't played their position is the first half inning. That works off the line-up. After that its gravy time.

Jess
torquer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.