Go Back   Forums > Between the Lines > Rules

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 10-19-2008, 01:00 PM   #1
MCLEOD36
All-Star
 
MCLEOD36's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 546
Rep Power: 34
MCLEOD36 enjoys it when you click on his icon
Default Balk (jump move)

Here is my question, a pitcher who has a very good jump move to first at the HS level.

With runner on first and second, first baseman playing behind the runner, ie on the grass made no attempt to get to first base and the pitcher did his jump move to first and threw to him. I stopped and called balk, no one on the base to throw too and he wasnt heading toward the base. The coach said he stepped off by doing the jump move, was that correct? THank you. John.
__________________
John McLeod
Miami, FL
MCLEOD36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-19-2008, 01:40 PM   #2
mstaylor
Veteran
 
mstaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Salisbury,MD
Age: 56
Posts: 367
Rep Power: 44
mstaylor is a jewel in the roughmstaylor is a jewel in the roughmstaylor is a jewel in the rough
Default

You were exactly right. It is a balk and the jump move is considered an in contact move. On the other hand if he jump steps and throws it in dead ball, it's only one base.
__________________
Michael S. Taylor
umpire-empire.com
mstaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-19-2008, 02:05 PM   #3
carolinablue
Regular
 
carolinablue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 183
Rep Power: 21
carolinablue enjoys it when you click on his icon
Default

Is the fake to third an throw to first move you see a lot of RH do considered a disengagement when he turns to first because I have seen a lot of fake to third and fake to first also. The move to first part looks a lot like a jump move to me.
carolinablue is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-19-2008, 02:25 PM   #4
mstaylor
Veteran
 
mstaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Salisbury,MD
Age: 56
Posts: 367
Rep Power: 44
mstaylor is a jewel in the roughmstaylor is a jewel in the roughmstaylor is a jewel in the rough
Default

In all rule rule sets except Fed, the pitcher has to disengage in the process of stepping to third if he is going to move back to first. For some reason Fed allows the pitcher to stay engaged and make both moves.
__________________
Michael S. Taylor
umpire-empire.com
mstaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-19-2008, 03:41 PM   #5
Richard_Siegel
Moderator
Moderator
All-Star Crew Chief
 
Richard_Siegel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7,043
Rep Power: 10
Richard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond repute
Default

quote="mstaylor"]In all rule rule sets except Fed, the pitcher has to disengage in the process of stepping to third if he is going to move back to first. For some reason Fed allows the pitcher to stay engaged and make both moves.[/quote
===================================
Yes, but in FED if the pitcher fakes to 3B and stays in contact with the rubber, if he makes a motion to 1B he MUST throw the ball to 1B. Other wise it is a balk for making a motion to 1B from the rubber without throwing the ball.
Richard_Siegel is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-19-2008, 07:54 PM   #6
MCLEOD36
All-Star
 
MCLEOD36's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Miami
Posts: 546
Rep Power: 34
MCLEOD36 enjoys it when you click on his icon
Default

It was a direct jump move to first. Thanks for the input. John
__________________
John McLeod
Miami, FL
MCLEOD36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-19-2008, 11:47 PM   #7
mstaylor
Veteran
 
mstaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Salisbury,MD
Age: 56
Posts: 367
Rep Power: 44
mstaylor is a jewel in the roughmstaylor is a jewel in the roughmstaylor is a jewel in the rough
Default

It was a direct jump move to first. Thanks for the input. John
No problem but Carolina asked a subsequent question.

Yes, but in FED if the pitcher fakes to 3B and stays in contact with the rubber, if he makes a motion to 1B he MUST throw the ball to 1B. Other wise it is a balk for making a motion to 1B from the rubber without throwing the ball.
My mistake for not pointing that out. Thanks Richard.
__________________
Michael S. Taylor
umpire-empire.com
mstaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.