Go Back   Forums > Between the Lines > Rules

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 08-25-2008, 07:15 AM   #1
umpire21
Cadet
 
umpire21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 29
Rep Power: 0
umpire21 is just getting started
Default OBR acquired bases

According to Jaksa and Roder a runner who misses first base, but beats out the throw is said to have acquired the base. With that being said, BR misses first and F3 recieves the throw from F5 after the BR has clearly "acquired" first base, F3 steps on first while passing it while BR is still off of the bag, does that qualify as an appeal attempt under OBR although he is clueless to the appeal. I know under FED a fielder must know what he is doing to appeal, Im not sure how intent and knowledge works and is considered under OBR.

Another situation, but similar is bases loaded, base hit to F9, who fires the ball to the plate. R3 over runs the plate. All runners advance safely to their next base. F2, not realizing that R3 has missed the plate, catches the throw from F9 too late to attempt a tag. He nonchalantly touches the plate. Is the force still on for an automatic "out" or is it an appeal play becuase R3 has "acquired" home?

Thanks in advance!
umpire21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-25-2008, 12:28 PM   #2
mstaylor
Veteran
 
mstaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Salisbury,MD
Age: 56
Posts: 367
Rep Power: 44
mstaylor is a jewel in the roughmstaylor is a jewel in the roughmstaylor is a jewel in the rough
Default

There is no accidental appeals in any code. There used to be in Fed but they fixed that when they put appeals back in. In your play at first the F3 can appeal but he has to make it clear to the umpire that is what he is doing.
__________________
Michael S. Taylor
umpire-empire.com
mstaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-25-2008, 04:06 PM   #3
dileonardoja
Veteran
 
dileonardoja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 271
Rep Power: 27
dileonardoja is just getting started
Default

Same with the play at the plate. If the fielder in either of your sitches says to the umpire, prior to the runner touching "he missed first". That would constitute an appeal and the runner would be out.
dileonardoja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.