|05-06-2011, 01:15 AM||#1|
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 265Rep Power: 24
Player A is DH'ing for Player B in leadoff spot on lineup card.
Situation 1) Player C substitues for B. Can B reenter?
Situation 2) Player D substitutes for A, who becomes the new DH. Player D goes into the field, eliminating the DH for the rest of the game, thus removing B from the game.
a) Can A reenter in D's place?
b) Can B reenter game in D's place?
Situation 3) Same as situation 2, but then A reenters. Can B then reenter, replacing A?
Can I get an official ruling?
|05-06-2011, 02:55 AM||#2|
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 8Rep Power: 0
Retired, yes to all situations. A and B are both in starting lineup and can reenter as long as it's the same spot in the order. Rule 3-1-3
Situation 1: If C enters for B in field. B can reenter as he was a starter and C is done for the game.
Situation 2: D may enter for A. When D becomes a fielder the DH position disappears but A and B may reenter as they were starters on the lineup card. If either reenters, D is done for the game.
Situation 3: A can reenter for D. D is now done for the game. B may reenter as he was in starting lineup, however if B reenters for A, A is now also done for the day.
The key is the staring lineup card. All starters, including DH, may reenter once as long as it is the same spot the occupied in the lineup. Hope this helps