Go Back   Forums > Between the Lines > Official scoring questions

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 06-21-2017, 02:38 AM   #1
justus
Rookie
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 79
Rep Power: 32
justus is a jewel in the roughjustus is a jewel in the roughjustus is a jewel in the roughjustus is a jewel in the rough
Default Scoring for Catcher's Interference

(or Catcher's Obstruction in FED).

I have seen the previous discussion of determining earned runs after catcher's interference.

Now, out of curiosity, a simple question that does not seem to be answered in OBR or in the FED Rules book. When the interference is enforced, is the batter credited with a hit, or reaching on an error? Or does it not count as an at bat, like a base on balls, hit by pitch or sacrifice?

Is the catcher charged with an error?

Came up in discussion with my partner today as we had catcher's obstruction in a high school game.
justus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-21-2017, 12:59 PM   #2
bobjenkins
All-Star Crew Chief
 
bobjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,266
Rep Power: 707
bobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond reputebobjenkins has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Scoring for Catcher's Interference

For the batter, it's just like a walk -- no time at bat, no hit:

(c) How to Prove a Box Score
(c) A box score shall balance (or is proven) when the total of the
team’s times at bat, bases on balls received, hit batters, sacrifice
bunts, sacrifice flies and batters awarded first base because of
interference or obstruction equals the total of that team’s runs,
players left on base and the opposing team’s putouts.

For the pitcher, it becomes an unearned run (but does not affect any other unearned runs when the inning is "recreated", as an error might)
bobjenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-21-2017, 04:17 PM   #3
justus
Rookie
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 79
Rep Power: 32
justus is a jewel in the roughjustus is a jewel in the roughjustus is a jewel in the roughjustus is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Scoring for Catcher's Interference

Thanks, Bob! I did not get deep enough into the minutiae of the scoring rule.
justus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-22-2017, 03:12 AM   #4
jmurray
Veteran Crew Chief
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,293
Rep Power: 204
jmurray has a reputation beyond reputejmurray has a reputation beyond reputejmurray has a reputation beyond reputejmurray has a reputation beyond reputejmurray has a reputation beyond reputejmurray has a reputation beyond reputejmurray has a reputation beyond reputejmurray has a reputation beyond reputejmurray has a reputation beyond reputejmurray has a reputation beyond reputejmurray has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Scoring for Catcher's Interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by justus View Post
Thanks, Bob! I did not get deep enough into the minutiae of the scoring rule.
Did not the people who trained you tell you what to do with those pages, except for the first scoring rule page in FED?
jmurray is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-23-2017, 12:41 AM   #5
bigblue2u
All-Star
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 736
Rep Power: 323
bigblue2u has a reputation beyond reputebigblue2u has a reputation beyond reputebigblue2u has a reputation beyond reputebigblue2u has a reputation beyond reputebigblue2u has a reputation beyond reputebigblue2u has a reputation beyond reputebigblue2u has a reputation beyond reputebigblue2u has a reputation beyond reputebigblue2u has a reputation beyond reputebigblue2u has a reputation beyond reputebigblue2u has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Scoring for Catcher's Interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by justus View Post
(or Catcher's Obstruction in FED).Now, out of curiosity, a simple question that does not seem to be answered in OBR or in the FED Rules book. When the interference is enforced, is the batter credited with a hit, or reaching on an error? Or does it not count as an at bat, like a base on balls, hit by pitch or sacrifice?
Is the catcher charged with an error?
Came up in discussion with my partner today as we had catcher's obstruction in a high school game.
It appears nobody answered Justus' questions.

1) On catcher's interference, the batter is not charged with a time at bat, 9.02 (a) (1) (D)

2) On catcher's interference, the catcher is charged with an error, 9.12 (c)

Although not specifically mentioned in the book, the NFHS rule is the same as OBR. Why is it not mentioned in the NFHS book you ask? Here is your clue:
The rules of scoring take up 40 pages in the OBR book. The rules of scoring take up six pages in the NFHS book.
bigblue2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-29-2018, 10:39 AM   #6
arence285
Newbie
No Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1
Rep Power: 0
arence285 is just getting started
Default Re: Scoring for Catcher's Interference

They're utilizing that Vantage no scoring method.It's not a Credit Karma point. creditkarmalogin.us I understand someone of you have been for some time.
arence285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-29-2018, 06:55 PM   #7
Rich_Ives
All-Star Crew Chief
 
Rich_Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Owego NY LL
Posts: 4,095
Rep Power: 512
Rich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Scoring for Catcher's Interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigblue2u View Post
The rules of scoring take up 40 pages in the OBR book. The rules of scoring take up six pages in the NFHS book.
One has careers based on them. The other doesn't.
__________________
Different does not equate to wrong.
Rich_Ives is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.