Go Back   Forums > Between the Lines > Rules

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Unread 04-03-2012, 11:54 PM   #27
AugieDonatelli
All-Star Crew Chief
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Age: 61
Posts: 3,279
Rep Power: 499
AugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond reputeAugieDonatelli has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: DK3

Quote:
Originally Posted by typikon View Post
I was not talking about "gloving" or receiving. Merely pointing out that the rules for some reason don't limit "catch" to a batted ball. You seem to be saying the same thing, i.e. certain pitched balls are also eligible to be "caught" in the technical sense.

Question: on a called third strike, the pitched ball is still "in flight" if it hits, say, catcher's mask first, then is gloved? Or does it have to hit the mit or hand first?
It has to touch the mitt or hand first. After that, it can ricochet off the mask or other equipment or body of the catcher and still be caught for a foul tip. If it hits any other part of the catcher first, it is an ordinary foul.
AugieDonatelli is offline   Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.