Go Back   Forums > Between the Lines > Rules

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-30-2012, 03:59 PM   #1
socal lurker
Veteran
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 316
Rep Power: 85
socal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant future
Default DK3

OBR (PONY - rule not modified)

RHB for home team so 3BL dugout.

At what point is a batter who didn't realize the ball was not caught out w/o being tagged? When he turns toward his dugout and takes a step (what a coach was arguing and umpire did not call)? Reaches the dugout? Something else? Is the rule/interpretation any different from abandonment rules that would apply to a runner on base or a batter who hit the ball?

thx
socal lurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-30-2012, 04:11 PM   #2
sdix00
All-Star
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 529
Rep Power: 38
sdix00 is movin' on upsdix00 is movin' on up
Default Re: DK3

6.09(b) comment
__________________
D!X
sdix00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-30-2012, 05:15 PM   #3
socal lurker
Veteran
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 316
Rep Power: 85
socal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant futuresocal lurker has a brilliant future
Default Re: DK3

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdix00 View Post
6.09(b) comment
Thx!

So I assume on fields with no circle, it is umpire judgment on an equivalent distance?
socal lurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-30-2012, 05:40 PM   #4
Richard_Siegel
Moderator
Moderator
All-Star Crew Chief
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8,363
Rep Power: 10
Richard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond reputeRichard_Siegel has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: DK3

Quote:
Originally Posted by socal lurker View Post
OBR (PONY - rule not modified)

RHB for home team so 3BL dugout.

At what point is a batter who didn't realize the ball was not caught out w/o being tagged? When he turns toward his dugout and takes a step (what a coach was arguing and umpire did not call)? Reaches the dugout? Something else? Is the rule/interpretation any different from abandonment rules that would apply to a runner on base or a batter who hit the ball?

thx
Actually, the dirt circle is a professional rule that came about only 4 or 5 years ago. FED and many youth leagues, which might include PONY, have not adpoted that modification yet. Those leagues still go by the previous rule that says the batter may advance to 1B until he steps into dead ball territory. Which means he can run to 1B until he enters the dugout. In reality, many youth baseball fields have backstops and fences that are much closer to HP than a normal dirt circle would be on a regulation field. So going by the old rule doesn't give the batter any advantage and it is better for the umpire because you have an actual real delimiter to use (i.e. a gate, the fence line, the dugout steps,...) to use to determine when he steped off the field, then having to devine some imaginary circle that is not even there to see.
Richard_Siegel is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-30-2012, 06:35 PM   #5
Rich_Ives
All-Star Crew Chief
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Owego NY LL
Posts: 3,975
Rep Power: 484
Rich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond reputeRich_Ives has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: DK3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard_Siegel View Post
Actually, the dirt circle is a professional rule that came about only 4 or 5 years ago. FED and many youth leagues, which might include PONY, have not adpoted that modification yet. Those leagues still go by the previous rule that says the batter may advance to 1B until he steps into dead ball territory. Which means he can run to 1B until he enters the dugout. In reality, many youth baseball fields have backstops and fences that are much closer to HP than a normal dirt circle would be on a regulation field. So going by the old rule doesn't give the batter any advantage and it is better for the umpire because you have an actual real delimiter to use (i.e. a gate, the fence line, the dugout steps,...) to use to determine when he steped off the field, then having to devine some imaginary circle that is not even there to see.
PONY uses OBR unless specified otherwise. Their rules are on line. There is no change from the OBR rule for this action listed. Thus the OBR rule is in effect.

LL has specifically stayed with the prior rule due to fierld conditions.
__________________
Different does not equate to wrong.
Rich_Ives is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-31-2012, 02:08 AM   #6
mt 73
Crew Chief
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,018
Rep Power: 92
mt 73 is a pillar in this communitymt 73 is a pillar in this communitymt 73 is a pillar in this communitymt 73 is a pillar in this communitymt 73 is a pillar in this communitymt 73 is a pillar in this communitymt 73 is a pillar in this communitymt 73 is a pillar in this communitymt 73 is a pillar in this community
Default Re: DK3

Not to be a nitpick, but the proper term is an uncaught 3rd strike.
Not dropped.
mt 73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-31-2012, 02:40 AM   #7
nwsquid
Regular
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Age: 36
Posts: 129
Rep Power: 27
nwsquid enjoys it when you click on his iconnwsquid enjoys it when you click on his icon
Default Re: DK3

Quote:
Originally Posted by mt 73 View Post
Not to be a nitpick, but the proper term is an uncaught 3rd strike.
Not dropped.
Ha, I laughed out loud. (Jovial I promise...nothing sinister here.)

Not to nit pick, but your second sentence (bolded) is a fragment. See how that doesn't work quite right.

Yeah, it's kind of a nitpick. It may be true, but it's still picking nits.
nwsquid is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-31-2012, 11:37 PM   #8
mt 73
Crew Chief
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,018
Rep Power: 92
mt 73 is a pillar in this communitymt 73 is a pillar in this communitymt 73 is a pillar in this communitymt 73 is a pillar in this communitymt 73 is a pillar in this communitymt 73 is a pillar in this communitymt 73 is a pillar in this communitymt 73 is a pillar in this communitymt 73 is a pillar in this community
Default Re: DK3

The catcher can glove a bounced pitch and the runner can still go to 1B if the rule is in effect.
Which is why the term dropped 3rd strike is misleading.
mt 73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-02-2012, 07:18 PM   #9
lustersilk
All-Star
 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 509
Rep Power: 65
lustersilk has much to be proud oflustersilk has much to be proud oflustersilk has much to be proud oflustersilk has much to be proud oflustersilk has much to be proud oflustersilk has much to be proud oflustersilk has much to be proud of
Default Re: DK3

Quote:
Originally Posted by nwsquid View Post
Ha, I laughed out loud. (Jovial I promise...nothing sinister here.)

Not to nit pick, but your second sentence (bolded) is a fragment. See how that doesn't work quite right.

Yeah, it's kind of a nitpick. It may be true, but it's still picking nits.
Yeah, but his nit had to due with a valid point of baseball, yours, with grammer. Seeing how this is a baseball umpiring forum (softball too), I think he was making quite a valid point, while you, not so much.
lustersilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.