Go Back   Forums > Pick your level > Softball

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Unread 06-12-2009, 05:14 AM   #1
uchief
Newbie
No Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 15
Rep Power: 0
uchief is just getting started
Default Infield fly double play

Sunday mens league ASA. R1 with no outs. High fly ball to the pitcher. Bad acting.....drops the ball intentionally, fires the ball to second base then attempt the double play. PU says no no no, Batters out and that's it. Defense laughs and we move on. The following week I'm the BU again with the same team but different PU. Same pitcher makes the same attempt and I quickly say not gonna happen this week either (even with better acting). He says their is nothing in the rule book that says he can't do it and he's right. It's a laid back league and the first baseman laughs and says he was the base ump last week when you tried that move. But it brings up the question I've always had.....why is that not also an infield fly ruling, because it does allow the same situation. And what would you guys do in this situation?
uchief is offline   Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.