PDA

View Full Version : obstruction


71ump
06-03-2010, 07:34 PM
Its probably been posted so sorry up front. High school rule indicates that if a runner is obstructed he gets a one base award of where he is at at the time of obstruction. What would you call if the runner at first is taking his lead. the first baseman obstructs the runner going back into first. (a) the runner is successful in his attempt to get back, yet he is still obstructed or (b) the runner is called out yet is obstructed. where do you place that runner, going back into first base. thanks in advance.

CoachJM
06-03-2010, 07:42 PM
71ump,

Second base.

JM

Pete_Booth
06-03-2010, 09:25 PM
Its probably been posted so sorry up front. High school rule indicates that if a runner is obstructed he gets a one base award of where he is at at the time of obstruction. What would you call if the runner at first is taking his lead. the first baseman obstructs the runner going back into first. (a) the runner is successful in his attempt to get back, yet he is still obstructed or (b) the runner is called out yet is obstructed. where do you place that runner, going back into first base. thanks in advance.

Your OP is the same in all codes.

R1 gets second base.

In OBR this would be Type A OBS.

Success or failure of the runner to get to the bag is of no consequence. If the runner was obstructed you make the ruling and give the award.

Pete Booth

bobjenkins
06-04-2010, 01:55 PM
Your OP is the same in all codes.

R1 gets second base.

In OBR this would be Type A OBS.

Success or failure of the runner to get to the bag is of no consequence. If the runner was obstructed you make the ruling and give the award.

Pete Booth


Agreed (and with JM).

The ACTION that constitutes OBS will be different in the different codes, but the AWARD once it's called will be the same (on this play).