PDA

View Full Version : Infield fly double play


uchief
06-12-2009, 05:14 AM
Sunday mens league ASA. R1 with no outs. High fly ball to the pitcher. Bad acting.....drops the ball intentionally, fires the ball to second base then attempt the double play. PU says no no no, Batters out and that's it. Defense laughs and we move on. The following week I'm the BU again with the same team but different PU. Same pitcher makes the same attempt and I quickly say not gonna happen this week either (even with better acting). He says their is nothing in the rule book that says he can't do it and he's right. It's a laid back league and the first baseman laughs and says he was the base ump last week when you tried that move. But it brings up the question I've always had.....why is that not also an infield fly ruling, because it does allow the same situation. And what would you guys do in this situation?

seth503
06-12-2009, 08:11 PM
Sunday mens league ASA. R1 with no outs. High fly ball to the pitcher. Bad acting.....drops the ball intentionally, fires the ball to second base then attempt the double play. PU says no no no, Batters out and that's it. Defense laughs and we move on. The following week I'm the BU again with the same team but different PU. Same pitcher makes the same attempt and I quickly say not gonna happen this week either (even with better acting). He says their is nothing in the rule book that says he can't do it and he's right. It's a laid back league and the first baseman laughs and says he was the base ump last week when you tried that move. But it brings up the question I've always had.....why is that not also an infield fly ruling, because it does allow the same situation. And what would you guys do in this situation?

With R1 only it is not an IF situation. There needs to be runners on 1B and 2B, or the bases loaded, with fewer than two outs.

When an IF is intentionally dropped, the IF takes precedence over the intentional drop. Since the batter is already out on the IF, taking away the chance for a double play, the intentional drop is not called and the ball remains live.

uchief
06-15-2009, 02:33 PM
With R1 only it is not an IF situation. There needs to be runners on 1B and 2B, or the bases loaded, with fewer than two outs.


Yes I'm aware of that, but that's not the situation explained.



When an IF is intentionally dropped, the IF takes precedence over the intentional drop. Since the batter is already out on the IF, taking away the chance for a double play, the intentional drop is not called and the ball remains live.

Thanks but we didn't have an infield fly, just R1. I actually found it in the book.....pg 83 ASA. When an infielder intentionally drops a fair fly ball, including a line drive or a bunt, which can be caught with ordinary effort with first, first and second, first and third or first, second and third bases occupied with fewer than two outs, the batter/runner is out. Effect: Dead ball, runners must return to the last base toched at the time of the pitch. If an infield fly is ruled, it has precedence over an intentionally dropped ball.