PDA

View Full Version : F1 Disengaging ... or not


JHLeatherwood
04-25-2009, 06:03 PM
14U USSSA (Slightly modified OBR)

RHP, R1, outs don't matter. Field has no fence beyond the dugout.

F1 comes set, then:

A) steps off the back of the rubber with his pivot foot, then steps and throws to 1B. Ball scoots past F3 and rolls out of play.

B) does the "jump-spin" throw to 1B. Ball scoots by F3 and rolls out of play.

I have R1 to 3b in (A) because he's disengaged, and R1 to 2B in (B) because (by interpretation) he's still "on the rubber."

Partner and both coaches disagreed with me when (A) happened.

So ... your thoughts?

chuck1
04-25-2009, 06:28 PM
You are correct.

Ozzy
04-25-2009, 07:14 PM
You are correct. The coaches I can accept not knowing the rules but your partner needs to get a clue!

Oh, by the way, in "A", F1 does not have to "step and throw" as he is an infielder.

heyblue26
04-25-2009, 11:39 PM
Your partner threw you under the bus. You made the correct call.

BrianC14
04-26-2009, 01:36 AM
Partner owes you a beer.