PDA

View Full Version : Designated Hitter: What the?


Dano
04-08-2009, 03:41 PM
Had a coach ask me (stated it more than asked me) that he could pinch run (not courtesy run) for his desginated hitter as many times as he wanted and still keep his designated hitter as the same who started.

3.1.4 and 3.1.3 says that he can re-enter once.

Am I off my rocker or is he?

torquer
04-08-2009, 03:53 PM
Had a coach ask me (stated it more than asked me) that he could pinch run (not courtesy run) for his desginated hitter as many times as he wanted and still keep his designated hitter as the same who started.

3.1.4 and 3.1.3 says that he can re-enter once.

Am I off my rocker or is he?

He's just another starter. Re-entry once. Must be a coach thing. Did you stand your ground?

Jess

Dano
04-08-2009, 03:55 PM
He's just another starter. Re-entry once. Must be a coach thing. Did you stand your ground?

Jess


Yep.

Never came into play but I thought that was just strange.

Willy
04-08-2009, 03:58 PM
You are firmly planted in your rocker, he is not. The CR may be used for the pitcher and catcher only. In FED, you DH for a player, not a position. If either the pitcher or catcher is in the batting line-up, they may have a CR, albeit, not the same one.

mstaylor
04-08-2009, 04:25 PM
Beside the fact that he is wrong, why the devil would he want to CR for a DH? The purpose for a CR is to speed the game along. The DH has nowhere to go for another nine ABs.

umpgent
04-08-2009, 07:17 PM
Because another common use (mis-use) of the CR rule is to run for a slow player ... in this case, likely a fat DH.

Dano
04-09-2009, 04:11 PM
Just a reminder guys.

The coach was talking about PINCH RUNNING not Courtesy Running.

Thanks for the answers.

robbyrudd455
04-09-2009, 04:44 PM
In FED, you DH for a player, not a position.

This is not correct. If Jones is pitcher and has CR Fred run for him in the first, then Brett comes into pitch later in the game, Fred can also run for him. Fred is locked in as the "pitcher" courtesy runner for whomever comes in as pitcher. So they DO run for a position, not a player.

Willy
04-09-2009, 04:52 PM
In FED, you DH for a player, not a position.
This is not correct. If Jones is pitcher and has CR Fred run for him in the first, then Brett comes into pitch later in the game, Fred can also run for him. Fred is locked in as the "pitcher" courtesy runner for whomever comes in as pitcher. So they DO run for a position, not a player.

You are right. I said you DH for a player. CR rules apply to the position.

Dano,

Sorry, misread the op. DH, as starter, can re-enter one time.

robbyrudd455
04-10-2009, 04:10 AM
You are right. I said you DH for a player. CR rules apply to the position.

Dano,

Sorry, misread the op. DH, as starter, can re-enter one time.

I'm retarded. Sorry...

haha!

Fritz
04-14-2009, 10:09 PM
Because another common use (mis-use) of the CR rule is to run for a slow player ... in this case, likely a fat DH.

Or how about this that a partner said he had a couple of weeks ago (glad I didn't!).

FED, pitcher is batting (no DH) and gets a walk. OC announces a pinch runner, which my partner (he was PU at this game) confirms with the OC is not a courtesy runner. 2 pitches later, for whatever reason, OC requests time to insert a COURTESY RUNNER FOR THE PITCHER (pinch runner). "Uh, no coach, that is a pinch runner for the pitcher, you can't courtesy for a pinch runner" "Really? It's the pitcher's batting slot isn't it?" "Yeah, but he isn't the pitcher"

Coach says never mind, but it did get me thinking: what if the Coach had said yes, he's going to be the next pitcher, do you allow the courtesy runner then? Does the pinch runner/pitcher have to pitch to a batter the next inning? If he doesn't, do you void any actions from the "courtesy runner" the previous inning?

Geesh..................

mstaylor
04-15-2009, 02:34 AM
Do not allow it. If you let the CR in for a PR he could still re-enter the original pitcher. Think of it this way, you would be taking a projected defensive sub. The same goes for the catcher.

torquer
04-15-2009, 05:02 PM
Do not allow it. If you let the CR in for a PR he could still re-enter the original pitcher. Think of it this way, you would be taking a projected defensive sub. The same goes for the catcher.
The only time that a CR is used for someone who hasn't played their position is the first half inning. That works off the line-up. After that its gravy time.

Jess

DP
04-20-2009, 02:59 PM
First, the courtesy runner rule is listed under the speed-up rules. It almost never does speed up the game. Most of the time the kids aren't paying attention, you stop the game, the kids have to try on 2 or 3 helmets to get one that fits, then they do some stretches before taking their position on base. speed-up is a BIG misnomer. It does give some more kids a chance to get into the game. I guess that's a good thing.

Second, I am on board with you guys when you say you can't courtesy run for a pinch hitter for the P or C because he hasn't pitched or caught yet. (We had a coach here who did this all the time) HOWEVER, our State Rules Interpreter has said that you can and it is allowed here in Pennsylvania. they have gone back and forth on this over the years and this is the latest interpretation. It doesn't make sense to me and it surely doesn't speed up the game.