View Full Version : IFF not declared
11-22-2008, 05:36 PM
I'm marking up my BRD with rules that are not intuitively obvious to me. Here's one that I can't resolve. Fed rules.
On an infield fly, the situation determines whether the batter is out, not the IFF declaration. Also, in the BRD there is an official interp 170-264 that states that any other runners put out after IFF is mistakenly NOT declared stands.
There is an IFF play (no outs), not declared and not caught. R1 and R2 are tagged out trying to advance. This is a triple play.
But later in BRD note 216, it says…”But if the umpires in another situation simple change their minds (it was an IFF that they should have called but didn’t), then the BRD recommends they should simply call B1 out and leave the other runners on the bases occupied at TOP.”
Is there any Fed documentation that allows umpires to “fix” such mistakes that put one side at a disadvantage, that I can’t find?
11-23-2008, 07:14 AM
Here are plays that was found and is exactly as written in 2008 High School Baseball "Rules by Topic" All are found on page 113
Infield fly by caseplays:
7.4.1 Situation G: With R1 on second and R2 on first and one out, B4
hits a high fly to second base which could have been caught by F4.
Neither Umpire declares "Infield Fly". F4 unintentionally drops the ball but picks it up
and tags R2 who is off the base. (Ruling: The half inning is over as R2's out is the third out.
The infield fly out for the second out holds even though it was not declared.
The situation determines the out, not the declaration. The umpires should always declare "Infield Fly, batter out if fair." to lessen any confusion.
10.2.3 Situation F: With R1 on third and no outs, B2 hits a high fly in the infield above second baseman's head. The base umpire erroneously call " Infield Fly. The batter is out"
F4 subsequently drops the ball. R1 scores from third and R2 ends up on second base. Does the play stand or is b2 out but the run allowed to score? Ruling: The play would stand. Both teams have the responsibility to know when conditions exist for an infield fly. The batter-runner should attempt to reach base safely and then inform the umpire that his call was in error (7-4-1f)
10.2.3 Situation G: With R1 on second and R2 on first and no outs, B3 hits an infield fly, but the umpire fails to call "infield fly." Is the infield fly in effect or not? Ruling: Even though the infield fly rule was not announced by the umpire, it is still in effect. Both teams have the responsibility to know when conditions exist for and infield fly.
These are from the manual as they are written. I hope that this helps.
11-23-2008, 05:15 PM
I agree...these are the written rules/interp. But the BRD suggests that in a different situation, the umpires could "fix" the situation.
Players are responsible for knowing when an IFF sitch is present. But on a marginal IFF sitch, players shouldn't be expected to read an umpire's mind.
The umpire orignally rules that a marginal IFF is not an IFF (obviously no IFF declared), fielder unintentionally drops the fly, then R1 and R2 are tagged out while attempting to advance.
Then, for whatever reason, the umpire changes his mind and rules that he should have called IFF. He then "fixes" things by calling B out and returning R1 and R2 (this is what the BRD recommends, play 109-264)).
This is all fair, but I was trying to find written justification for the "fix".
And if I had kept reading, then I would have found it. UIC duties include...10-2-3l rectify any situation in which an umpire's decision that was reversed has placed either team at a disadvantage.
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.