PDA

View Full Version : Balk (jump move)


MCLEOD36
10-19-2008, 02:00 PM
Here is my question, a pitcher who has a very good jump move to first at the HS level.

With runner on first and second, first baseman playing behind the runner, ie on the grass made no attempt to get to first base and the pitcher did his jump move to first and threw to him. I stopped and called balk, no one on the base to throw too and he wasnt heading toward the base. The coach said he stepped off by doing the jump move, was that correct? THank you. John.

mstaylor
10-19-2008, 02:40 PM
You were exactly right. It is a balk and the jump move is considered an in contact move. On the other hand if he jump steps and throws it in dead ball, it's only one base.

carolinablue
10-19-2008, 03:05 PM
Is the fake to third an throw to first move you see a lot of RH do considered a disengagement when he turns to first because I have seen a lot of fake to third and fake to first also. The move to first part looks a lot like a jump move to me.

mstaylor
10-19-2008, 03:25 PM
In all rule rule sets except Fed, the pitcher has to disengage in the process of stepping to third if he is going to move back to first. For some reason Fed allows the pitcher to stay engaged and make both moves.

Richard_Siegel
10-19-2008, 04:41 PM
quote="mstaylor"]In all rule rule sets except Fed, the pitcher has to disengage in the process of stepping to third if he is going to move back to first. For some reason Fed allows the pitcher to stay engaged and make both moves.[/quote
===================================
Yes, but in FED if the pitcher fakes to 3B and stays in contact with the rubber, if he makes a motion to 1B he MUST throw the ball to 1B. Other wise it is a balk for making a motion to 1B from the rubber without throwing the ball.

MCLEOD36
10-19-2008, 08:54 PM
It was a direct jump move to first. Thanks for the input. John

mstaylor
10-20-2008, 12:47 AM
It was a direct jump move to first. Thanks for the input. John
No problem but Carolina asked a subsequent question.

Yes, but in FED if the pitcher fakes to 3B and stays in contact with the rubber, if he makes a motion to 1B he MUST throw the ball to 1B. Other wise it is a balk for making a motion to 1B from the rubber without throwing the ball.
My mistake for not pointing that out. Thanks Richard.