View Full Version : Batter Interference on pop up
08-30-2006, 05:31 AM
Sitch ~ OBR ~ no outs
R1 breaks for 2nd (hit & run) on the pitch.
Batter hits a lazy pop up just foul of the 1B line about half way to the bag. (This has all the makings of an easy double play.) Pitcher comes over to catch the pop up about a step to the foul side of the line when the batter/runner bumps him and he drops the ball.
What's the call?
What's the reference(s)?
How do you determine one out or two?
08-30-2006, 05:42 AM
Judgment call all the way. If the umpire feels it was a deliberate and willful attempt to break up a double play, then both R1 and BR are out (if R1 was the only runner).
The umpire in this case should call out the BR and the runner who has advanced closest to home plate.
09-01-2006, 01:01 PM
I would say two outs if you say that it would have been an easy double play without the int.
09-01-2006, 06:00 PM
I'm sorry, i fail to see how
7.09 (h) In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base.
I assume you me (g) LOL
However this is a purely judgement calll and you have to determine he was doing SO a double play would be avoided, not simply interfere when a double play was possible.
09-01-2006, 07:11 PM
My rule book reads as follows:
7.09(i) It is interference by a batter or a runner when in the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base.
7.09(h) It is interference by a batter or a runner when if, in the judgment of the umpire, a batter-runner wilfully and deliberately interferes with a batted ball or a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball, with the obvious intent to break up a double play, the ball is dead; the umpire shall call the batter-runner out for interference and shall also call out the runner who had advanced closest to the home plate regardless where the double play might have been possible. In no event shall bases be run because of such interference.
Perhaps one of us has a misprint?
09-01-2006, 07:30 PM
I pulled mine off MLB.com, So I don't know.
09-01-2006, 09:17 PM
Your rule is 7.09(i) in the old book. The "new" rule book has deleted all of 7.09(b), so all the other rules move up one space. So the rule I'm really quoting I guess is now Rule 7.09(g) and the old 7.09(g) is now 7.09(f), etc, etc....
I guess it's time to break down and buy a new Sporting News Edition of the OBR.
Oh, BTW, I'm out of the hospital now!!! Yipee!!! :D :D :D
Thanks for all the well wishes (no, not you guys who wished I'd fall down a well!).
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.