PDA

View Full Version : runner int.


loulou
05-30-2011, 04:06 PM
Question: Runner on 1st,2 outs,short pop-up to 2nd baseman.Runner interferes with catch,interence is called.Does the batter get charged for a time at bat,as in a fielders choice,or something else.This was brought up at a meeting.

semper_fi_72
05-30-2011, 04:08 PM
Yes the batter gets charged with a AB.
He put the ball in play.

yawetag
05-30-2011, 04:22 PM
Yes the batter gets charged with a AB.
He put the ball in play.

In fact, he's credited with a Fielder's Choice, correct? Since R1 is out, credit F4 with a put-out.

KenGibes
05-30-2011, 04:32 PM
Question: Runner on 1st,2 outs,short pop-up to 2nd baseman.Runner interferes with catch,interence is called.Does the batter get charged for a time at bat,as in a fielders choice,or something else.This was brought up at a meeting.

Correct.. fielder's choice.

Rule 10.05
(b) The official scorer shall not credit a base hit when a:
(5) runner is called out for interference with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball, unless in the scorer’s judgment the batter-runner would have been safe had the interference not occurred.

Not to be confused with the situation where a runner is hit by a batted ball and called out for interference. In that case the batter is awarded a hit.

Rule 10.05
(a) The official scorer shall credit a batter with a base hit when:
(5) a fair ball that has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire, unless a runner is called out for having been touched by an Infield Fly, in which case the official scorer shall not score a hit;

cordon blue
06-01-2011, 05:03 AM
No, the batter is not charged with a time at bat on this play because he was awarded first base on the interference. Here’s the supporting rule:

10.02 The official score report prescribed by the league president shall make provisions for entering the information listed below, in a form convenient for the compilation of permanent statistical records:

(a) The following records for each batter and runner:
(1) Number of times he batted, except that no time at bat shall be charged against a player when
(i) He hits a sacrifice bunt or sacrifice fly
(ii) He is awarded first base on four called balls
(iii) He is hit by a pitched ball
(iv) He is awarded first base because of interference or obstruction.

It is not a fielder’s choice because the play does not meet the requirements of the definition found in rule 2.00:

FIELDER'S CHOICE is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner. The term is also used by scorers
(a) to account for the advance of the batter runner who takes one or more extra bases when the fielder who handles his safe hit attempts to put out a preceding runner;
(b) to account for the advance of a runner (other than by stolen base or error) while a fielder is attempting to put out another runner; and
(c) to account for the advance of a runner made solely because of the defensive team's indifference (undefended steal).

Yes, the second baseman is credited with a putout because Rule 10.09c(6) directs us to do so. Rule 10 calls those outs that are awarded by rule “automatic outs.”

Rich_Ives
06-01-2011, 01:29 PM
No, the batter is not charged with a time at bat on this play because he was awarded first base on the interference. Here’s the supporting rule:

10.02 The official score report prescribed by the league president shall make provisions for entering the information listed below, in a form convenient for the compilation of permanent statistical records:

(a) The following records for each batter and runner:
(1) Number of times he batted, except that no time at bat shall be charged against a player when
(i) He hits a sacrifice bunt or sacrifice fly
(ii) He is awarded first base on four called balls
(iii) He is hit by a pitched ball
(iv) He is awarded first base because of interference or obstruction.

It is not a fielder’s choice because the play does not meet the requirements of the definition found in rule 2.00:

FIELDER'S CHOICE is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner. The term is also used by scorers
(a) to account for the advance of the batter runner who takes one or more extra bases when the fielder who handles his safe hit attempts to put out a preceding runner;
(b) to account for the advance of a runner (other than by stolen base or error) while a fielder is attempting to put out another runner; and
(c) to account for the advance of a runner made solely because of the defensive team's indifference (undefended steal).

Yes, the second baseman is credited with a putout because Rule 10.09c(6) directs us to do so. Rule 10 calls those outs that are awarded by rule “automatic outs.”

EXCEPT

The batter was not awarded first base. The award in the rule you quoted means if the batter was obstructed or there was catcher's interference. He gets to be on first base because he's now a runner and has to go somewhere - just as if he hit a ground ball to 3B and there was an out at 2B but no throw to 1B.

It's an AB in the original play.