PDA

View Full Version : fly ball to F7


retired
03-31-2011, 08:02 PM
With 1 out and R1 at 3rd, B2 hits a fly ball to F7. R1 legally tags at 3rd, and attempts to score after the catch. Catcher F2 catches the throw, goes to the ground and blocks the plate with his left leg prior to R1 sliding into F2s shin guard. F2 tags R1 before he is able to touch the plate, and umpire U1 calls the runner out to end the inning. As the 1st base assistant coach walks to his 3rd base dugout, he asks U1, I thought there was a new rule stating that a runner could not be denied access to the base? As U1 briefly explained the rule, the assistant coach continued his walk to the dugout.
A. Only the assistant coach shall be restricted to the bench for the remainder of the game, because the head coach was not involved in the conversation
B. Both the head coach and the assistant coach shall be restricted to the bench for the remainder of the game
C. An official warning is issued to both the head coach and the assistant coach
D. There is no penalty for an assistant coach to engage in a conversation with an umpire during a dead ball situation.

D?

CoachJM
03-31-2011, 08:13 PM
dude,

You're not in the middle of taking a test or anything are ya'? :rolleyes:

JM

jaxrolo
03-31-2011, 08:16 PM
Correct "D"

retired
03-31-2011, 08:17 PM
no,
these are q i plan on forwarding to a couple of umpires and i'm also looking for a little help on references.

CoachJM
03-31-2011, 08:28 PM
Case Play 3.3.1S

JM

retired
03-31-2011, 08:34 PM
great, thanks again

Ironhead17
04-02-2011, 04:22 AM
i plan on forwarding...

another, "I told you so" from the grandstands.

Can we ban this chump?